Genevieve Janvrin
Sophie Wright

Light on the Riviera

Cover | © teNeues Verlag

Photography of the Côte d'Azur

How fishing villages became cultural centres: the "Blue Coast" as an artists' meeting place

In the tradition of Riviera Cocktail and Stars & Cars: a great new photography picture book with retro charm

At the beginning of the 20th century, many artists from Paris came to the Côte d'Azur and elevated the hitherto remote region to the place to be for creative people, intellectuals and artists of life. In a way, the French Riviera with its legendary light also spurred the development of art photography. Light on the Riviera traces this dynamic through the works of photographers such as Charles Nègre or Lee Miller, Martine Franck and Helmut Newton.
Photographers recorded painters, fashion designers and their works and were in turn influenced by them. Thus, over the decades, a visual heritage has emerged that is narrated chronologically in this book - from the beginnings of photography and avant-garde fashion in the 1920s to the Surrealists, to the Golden Fifties of paparazzi photography, to artist portraits and photojournalism.

 

Genevieve Janvrin
Editor
Sophie Wright
Author
Price
€ 60 | $ 85 | £ 50
Availability
Pages
256
Images
250 color & b/w photographs
Format
27,5 x 34 cm | 10 5/6 x 13 3/8 in

Book title
Light on the Riviera
Subtitle
Photography of the Côte d'Azur
Publisher
teNeues Verlag GmbH
Release date
22.4.2022
Format
27,5 x 34 cm | 10 5/6 x 13 3/8 in
Language
German, English & French
Pages
256
Images
250 color & b/w photographs
Price
€ 60 | $ 85 | £ 50
Finish / Special Book-Work
Hardcover
Category
Luxury & Lifestyle, Art & Culture, Travel & Sports
ISBN (DE)
978-3-96171-395-0

Magazin-Artikel

teNeues presents: These books will make you long for summer.

MORE
01_Alain Delon driving Romy Schneider's Mercedes, France, late 1950s | © Russell Melcher

Photographic time travel: A look at life in the past

MORE

You might also like

The Watch Book Rolex

(2017)

nicht mehr verfügbar | not available anymore
go to book

The Hunting Book

€ 79.90 | $ 95 | £ 65
go to book

Ultimate Toys for Men

New Edition

€ 80
go to book

The Watch Book - Compendium

(2019)

€ 49.90 | $ 75 | £ 50
go to book