Genevieve Janvrin
Sophie Wright

Light on the Riviera

9783961713950_pages_044-045.jpg
9783961713950_pages_060-061.jpg
9783961713950_pages_070-071.jpg
9783961713950_pages_148-149.jpg
Photography of the Côte d'Azur

Photography of the Côte d'Azur

How fishing villages became cultural centres: the "Blue Coast" as an artists' meeting place

In the tradition of Riviera Cocktail and Stars & Cars: a great new photography picture book with retro charm

At the beginning of the 20th century, many artists from Paris came to the Côte d'Azur and elevated the hitherto remote region to the place to be for creative people, intellectuals and artists of life. In a way, the French Riviera with its legendary light also spurred the development of art photography. Light on the Riviera traces this dynamic through the works of photographers such as Charles Nègre or Lee Miller, Martine Franck and Helmut Newton.
Photographers recorded painters, fashion designers and their works and were in turn influenced by them. Thus, over the decades, a visual heritage has emerged that is narrated chronologically in this book - from the beginnings of photography and avant-garde fashion in the 1920s to the Surrealists, to the Golden Fifties of paparazzi photography, to artist portraits and photojournalism.

 

Genevieve Janvrin
Editor
Sophie Wright
Author
Price
€ 60 | $ 85 | £ 50
Pages
256
Images
250 color & b/w photographs
Format
27,5 x 34 cm | 10 5/6 x 13 3/8 in

Book title
Light on the Riviera
Subtitle
Photography of the Côte d'Azur
Publisher
teNeues Verlag GmbH
Release date
22.4.2022
Format
27,5 x 34 cm | 10 5/6 x 13 3/8 in
Language
German, English & French
Pages
256
Images
250 color & b/w photographs
Price
€ 60 | $ 85 | £ 50
Finish / Special Book-Work
Hardcover
Category
Lifestyle, Art & Culture, Travel & Sports
ISBN (DE)
978-3-96171-395-0

Genevieve Janvrin is a photography expert with over 20 years’ experience in the art market. She works with all major collectors of the medium in Europe and America.
Janvrin received her Bachelor of Arts from University College London where she specialised in her final year in Surrealist photography and completed her thesis on the Photography of Dora Maar. She commenced her career at the prestigious Michael Hoppen Gallery, London, in 2001 and went on to work for Rex Irwin Fine Art, Sydney and Magnum Photos in London and New York. In the last five years she held the position as Head of Europe for the Department of Photographs at Phillips auction house, the auction leaders in photography sales. Janvrin has an extensive network of collectors, patrons and colleagues within the arts which has been built up during her career.
Since buying her first home on the Côte d’Azur in 2004 she has continued to discover more and more artists and photographers who have all called the South of France home. The publication of her book realises a long-held ambition to demonstrate the wealth of photography produced there. Moving to the region permanently with her family in 2017, she opened Galerie Janvrin in 2021, a gallery located on the Côte d’Azur and dedicated to photo-based art and works on paper. She now lives near Grasse.

show more

Sophie Wright is a photography consultant with over 20 years experience in creative direction, curation, strategy and sales for artists and collections. An expert in documentary photography, Wright was Global Cultural Director at Magnum Photos until 2020, where she ran an international team overseeing exhibitions and their accompanying books, commissions, print sales and talks programmes. Her book publications include Magnum Contact Sheets (2011) and Magnum China (2018) with Thames & Hudson; touring exhibitions include The Body Observed at the Sainsbury Centre (2019) and Now is the Time, commissions and an exhibition with the Boston Consulting Group which toured globally including to Davos and Beijing (2015). She initiated Magnum Photos Now, a talks programme with the Barbican Centre (2016–2019) and devised the Live Lab, a series of experimental residencies held in London, Shenzhen, Moscow and Paris (2017/18). In 2020 Wright mentored over 100 emerging photo- graphers via her online programme Photochat. In 2021 she conceived the Leica Lab workshops with Leica UK. Her exhibition America in Crisis, an updating of an historical Magnum project from 1969 with contemporary work from 2020, opened at the Saatchi Gallery in London in January 2022.
She writes and lectures on photography and professional practice and is on the Board of the Journal of Photography and Culture.

show more

You might also like

The Watch Book Rolex

The Watch Book Rolex

(2017)

nicht mehr verfügbar | not available anymore
go to book
The Hunting Book

The Hunting Book

€ 79.90 | $ 95 | £ 65
go to book
Ultimate Toys for Men

Ultimate Toys for Men

New Edition

€ 80
go to book
The Watch Book - Compendium

The Watch Book - Compendium

(2019)

€ 49.90 | $ 75 | £ 50
go to book